Make A Reservation

历史

库鲁巴(Kurumba)–起源

旅游业,这行业为马尔代夫带来了繁荣和进步。这始于库鲁巴1972年的开发。当时,这偏远的群岛不为外人所知,只有渔民居住,也没有外来投资。Hulhule岛(目前的国际机场)只有一个小小的飞机跑道,是由自愿者建造并且没有定期的航班。Universal Enterprises’ Chairman企业董事长Mohamed Umar Maniku回忆说:“那时在马尔代夫的我们什么都没有,什么都没有。没有银行,没有机场,没有电话只有业余无线电或莫尔斯电码与科伦坡接触,就连开发计划署专家也说旅游业将永远不会成功,因为当时没有设备,也没有设施。

这是一个可以很容易就错过成长机会的行业,但旅游业的蓬勃发展多亏于天时、地利、人和,以及充满热忱及决心的年轻马尔代夫创始人们。这一切始于George Corbin,一位意大利旅行社代理商和Ahmed Naseem,马尔代夫大使馆的小辈(并在后来成为外交部长)两人在科伦坡(Colombo)的偶遇。当时,Corbin寻找质朴的岛屿,让他可以带意大利人到那儿游泳和捕鱼。对于Corbin,田园诗般的马尔代夫群岛是他一见钟情的。当他在1972年第一次和Naseem乘坐货船到访马累(Male)后,他立即誓言要带更多的旅客返回该地方。

在1972年2月,Corbin带来了马尔代夫的第一批游客,主要是记者和摄影师。他们在马累(Male) 三间简陋的房子住宿,并由MU Maniku和他朋友看管的,包括HussainAfeef这位目前是几个度假村成功的业者/经营者。马尔代夫让他们着迷了,这是个适合游泳、日光浴、钓鱼的理想胜地。Corbin承诺带来更多的游客,条件是如果Maniku、Naseem和Afeef能为他们找到住宿的地方。库鲁巴(Kurumba)就这样诞生了。

库鲁巴–原始

被他们的热忱鼓舞,Maniku和Afeef便和一个无人居住的椰子种植园小岛,Vihamanafus的租赁人联系。他们选择该岛是因为它靠近飞机跑道和首都。要进入岛内也只能通过纵帆船或舷外马达的开放船。那里也没有码头(虽然后来建造一座使用椰子和树干作为支柱的码头)。坐船抵达该沙滩后,客人需要涉水到达度假村。

M U Maniku,一位农业官员,用他每天1.30中午下班后的时间发展Vihamanafushi。凭借Corbin的协助和他自己的资源,Maniku和他年轻的马尔代夫朋友们使用珊瑚当石墙、椰子木、棕榈茅草当屋顶,成功在建立3座总共30间的客房。每个客房里有咸水淋浴和厕所、基本家具,并可以前往海滩。宾客们可以在食堂进食或在沙滩上烧烤。
他们将该度假村名为Kurumba村,是以迪维希语(Dhivehi)里的椰子,Kurumba命名。Afeef成为经理。这度假村开业于1972年10月3日(星期二),并在一年接下来的日子里保持客满,预示着其未来的成功。

Maniku说:“关于旅游,我们什么都不了解,是游客们帮助了我们打造这行业。我们听取了他们的意见,提供他们想要的东西。我们很幸运,他们想在自然的环境中得到简单,那就是我们必须提供的并且是我们能给予的。”

库鲁巴 - 持久的成功

尽管最初只可容纳每个月60位宾客,库鲁巴至今已接待过了超过14,000位宾客。从最初屈指可数的创办人,目前库鲁巴有450名员工。有些员工已有超过20年的资历。Maniku说:“最初,我们甚至不懂为这些国外宾客烹煮什么食物,或如何接待他们。我有一本从英语翻译到迪维希语的食谱,让男员工们可以读明白。我当过厨师、园丁和客房服务生。一切都找自己下手。”

在机场被扩展并有长途航班后,库鲁巴继而扩大以容纳更多的宾客。库鲁巴就像一个地道的热带村庄,又让人有宾至如归的感觉。清洁的淡水、空调和提供国际性食物的餐馆一一林立。库鲁巴度假村于2003年经历了一次完整的转型,以满足21世纪的需求。这转型让一个世界级的度假酒店诞生了。这里有180间客房,包括皇家别墅、总统套房,泳池别墅,家庭式别墅以及海滩和园林高级客房。

沿着多年来一个自然增长的进程,加上令人骄傲的毅力、诚挚的服务,库鲁巴逐步成为马尔代夫的大酒店,成为热情好客的马尔代夫甚至热带雨林的基准。

Make A Reservation

History

Kurumba – The Beginning

Tourism: an industry that brought prosperity and progress to the Maldives. It began with Kurumba’s opening in 1972. At the time, this remote archipelago, inhabited only by fisher folk, was unknown to the outside world, with no foreign investment. There was only a small airstrip on Hulhule Island (the present international airport), built by volunteers, with no regular flights. Mohamed Umar Maniku, Universal Enterprises’ Chairman, recalls: “We had nothing in the Maldives then, nothing. No Banks, no airport, no telephones only ham radio or Morse code contact with Colombo. Even the UNDP experts said that tourism would never succeed because there were no facilities, no infrastructure."

Here was an industry that could have easily missed its chance to grow, yet tourism flourished thanks to the right people in the right place at the right time, and the passion and determination of its young Maldivian founders. It all began with a chance meeting in Colombo between George Corbin, an Italian travel agent, and Ahmed Naseem, then a junior with the Maldives Embassy who later became Foreign Minister. At the time, Corbin was seeking pristine islands where he could bring Italians to swim and hunt fish. For Corbin, the idyllic Maldives archipelago was love at first sight. Upon his first visit to Malé, with Naseem by cargo ship in 1971, he immediately vowed to return with more guests.

Corbin brought the Maldives’ first tourists, mainly journalists and photographers, in February 1972. They stayed in humble lodging in three houses in Malé, looked after by M U Maniku and his friends, including Hussain Afeef, who is currently the successful owner/operator of several resorts. Perfect for swimming, sunbathing, fishing, the Maldives enchanted them. Corbin promised to bring more tourists if Maniku, Naseem and Afeef could find them somewhere to stay. Kurumba was born.

Kurumba – The Original

Inspired by their enthusiasm, Maniku and Afeef linked up with the leaseholder of Vihamanafushi, then an uninhabited island coconut plantation. They chose the island for its proximity to the airstrip and the capital. Access to the island was only by sailing dhoni or open boat with outboard motor. There was no jetty (although one was later built using coconut trunks as pillars). After arriving by boat on the beach, guests had to wade through the surf to reach the resort.

An agriculture officer, M U Maniku spent his time after work finished each day at 1.30pm to develop Vihamanafushi. With financial help from Corbin and his own resources, Maniku and his young Maldivian friends managed to build 30 rooms in blocks of three, using coral stone walls, coconut timber, and palm thatch for roofs. Each room had a brackish water shower and toilet, basic furniture, and access to the beach. Meals were taken in a canteen or as barbecues on the beach.

They called the resort Kurumba Village, after the Dhivehi word for coconut, Kurumba. Afeef became the manager. The resort opened on Tuesday 3 October 1972 and remained fully booked for the rest of the year, an augury of its success ever since. 

“We knew nothing about tourism,” said Maniku. “It was tourists who helped us build the industry here. We listened to them and gave them what they wanted. Luckily for us, they wanted simplicity in natural surroundings and that was what we had to offer and all we could afford.”

Kurumba – A Lasting Success

From its humble origins accommodating only 60 guests a month, Kurumba has since graduated to 14,000. From a handful of founding friends, to a staff of 450. Several have stayed for over 20 years. “In the beginning,” said Maniku, “we didn’t know what to cook for these tourists from overseas, or how to deal with them. I had a recipe book in English which I translated into Dhivehi so the boys could understand, I was cook, gardener and room boy. We had to do everything ourselves.”

Kurumba expanded to accommodate more people after the airport was extended to take long-haul flights. Like an authentic tropical village, but with the comforts of home. Fresh water, air-conditioning and restaurants with international offerings. In 2003, Kurumba underwent a complete transformation yet again, to meet the demands of the 21st century. The result was a world-class resort with 180 rooms, including the Royal Residence, Presidential Suites, Pool Villas, Family Villas and beach and garden superior rooms. 

A process of natural growth, and of proud perseverance, led by heartfelt service over the years. Kurumba has matured into the Grand Hotel of the Maldives, setting the benchmark for hospitality in the region, and in the tropics at large.